

SMD 1A01 – Layla BonnotSMD 1A02 – Dieter Lehmann MoralesSMD 1A03 – Carlo PerriSMD 1A04 – Chris HallSMD 1A05 – Christine MillerSMD 1A06 – Brandolon BarnettSMD 1A07 – Mukta GhorpadeySMD 1A08 – Kent C. BoeseSMD 1A09 – Michael WraySMD 1A10 – Rashida BrownSMD 1A11 – Dotti Love WadeSMD 1A12 – Vacant

ANC1A Resolution in Opposition to RPP Zones Aligning with ANC Borders (Bill 24-433)

WHEREAS, The Rightsizing Residential Permit Parking Regulation Amendment Act of 2021 (Bill 24-433) proposes to increase the number of RPP Zones by making them smaller;

WHEREAS, Bill 24-433 proposes to align these smaller RPP Zones with Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) boundaries;

WHEREAS, ANCs are political organizations which are made up of Single Member Districts that have approximately 2,000 residents in each SMD, and as such, ANC boundaries are subject to decennial redistricting which changes their boundaries;

WHEREAS, RPP zones aligned with ANC boundaries would naturally change due to the decennial redistricting and cause significant confusion and hardship to District residents;

WHEREAS, While neighborhood cohesiveness is a tenant of ANC redistricting, a review of the newly adopted ANC maps clearly shows several areas where neighborhood cohesiveness was not maintained with several illogical boundaries across DC from the perspective of District residents;

BE IT RESOLVED, That while ANC1A does not oppose the proposal to shrink the size of RPP zones and to increase the number of RPP zones, ANC1A does oppose ANC borders and RPP zones being one and the same.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That ANC1A recommends that the following tenets be considered and adopted when establishing new RPP Zones:

- RPP Zones should be established based on neighborhood clusters and business corridors, and as such, be stable and predictable
- RPP Zones should include subzones centered around sports arenas and Metro stations to discourage commuter parking behavior (commonly seen around the Georgia Avenue Metro Station, Nationals Park, etc.)

Certification:

At a regularly scheduled and publicly noticed meeting held on September 14, 2022, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1A considered the above resolution. With a quorum of 8 Commissioners present, the Commission voted with 8 yeas, 0 nos, and 0 abstentions to adopt the above resolution.

Michael Wray, AMC 1A Chair

Mukta Ghorpadey, ANC 1A Secretary